Advanced Search - [Search Tip: Use " " for better search results ex. "John Q. Doe"; "City of ..."]
Communications Section
Communications Section

Kneeling L to R:
Pfc Adolph S. Tarentino, Sgt Edward A. Richardson*, Cpl Julian Gillis, Sgt Eugene Moffatt, Jr. and M/Sgt Patrick J. Grananhan.
Standing L to R:
1st Lt James C. Render*, unidentified, Cpl Gene H. Gross, Cpl Kenneth R. Strobel, S/Sgt Merrill S. Meeker* and T/Sgt Gerald J. Goff*

The Communications Secction was reponsible for the proper function and repair of all commuication devices

Other personnel of the Communication's Section not pictured above are:

Each of the men in the section below had the MOS 754 Radio Mechanic, AAF
60th Squadron
61st Squadron
62nd Squadron
S/Sgt Daniel A. Ediger
T/Sgt Julius L. Golf
Sgt James E. Greer
S/Sgt John Mitsak

Cpl Arnold Bartels
S/Sgt William H. Heissinger*
Sgt Ardis J. Murphree
S/Sgt Arthur C. Rupert
Pfc Franklin R. Smith
Sgt Raymond Weiser*
S/Sgt Oden M. Beckey
S/Sgt Benjamin Godfrey
Cpl Wayne F. Grubb
Pfc George N. Kotsonaros
Pfc John M. Moore
Sgt John R. Murray*
Pfc Paul Roeb
S/Sgt Jeff W. Shamburger*
S/Sgt Howard G. Stanley
The signatures of the men in the section below appear on a photo that belonged to Sgt Ardis "Tex" J. Murphree. (Note: The signatues of the names marked with (*) also signed the photo; the signatures of 39 names appear on the photo.
Source Glen Terry - Ardis Murphree's grandson.
1 Cpl Julius E. Bone
Cpl James A. Calloway
Sgt Stephen T. Lesko
Cpl Frank Greco
T/Sgt Neville Von Stein
Sgt George C. Wait

Sgt Ardis "Tex" J. Murphree
Radio Mechanic
17 March 1996

Glen Terry would like to make contact with anyone who knew his grandfather - especially if they were in the Communication's Section. He can be contacted via email
Anyone with additional information about this section, please email:

Ground Section Main Page
Source: "History of the 39th Bomb Group", various orders
This page was created on 25 April 2002/Updated 27 February 2003
Copyright ©  2000 - 2006 - 39th Bomb Group (VH) Association